Eaton Bank Academy

Oxford Schools Debate Championship


After the recent success of the KS3 debate team, we were invited to the Oxford Schools Debate Championship at the Oxford University Union for KS4 and KS5.  We took 3 teams of Year 10 students: Imogen Bruce, Olivia Cheetham, Ross Kane, Hannah Pemberton, Sam Reynolds and Morgan Smith.  They were given 15 minutes of preparation time before presenting 5 minute speeches in roles as per the British Parliamentary style of debate. The students were fantastic; showed immense courage; and developed constantly as the day progressed through 4 intense rounds of debating on topics such as euthanasia and the morality of religious schools. A fantastic and memorable day for all involved.