About BTEC Level 3 in Sport

Course Overview

BTEC National Extended Certificate consists of 4 units over two years. The government have changed the BTEC assessment processes for this year. There are now three methods of assessment. Unit 1 is assessed through an external exam. Unit 2 is assessed using a pre-released task which will be marked by the exam board. The two remaining units will be assessed through internally marked assignments.

What Careers Can BTEC Sport Lead to?

Depending on which particular option units you choose you can progress into freelance coaching, setting up your own coaching business, managing sports teams, Sports Development Officer, Sport Scientist, PE Teacher, University Lecturer, Research Scientist, Performance Manager and many more.
Mandatory Units (All three covered)

  1. Applied Anatomy and Physiology
  2. Fitness Training and Programming for Health, Sport and Well-being
  3. Professional development in the sports industry

Optional Units (One covered)

  1. Sports Leadership
  2. Application of Fitness Testing
  3. Sports Psychology
  4. Practical Sports Performance

BTEC Level 3 (NCF)
National Extended Certificate in Sport
Other Information
This course demands constant hard work in school and at home. Students are expected to have achieved Grade 5 at GCSE, to have a positive Attitude to Learning, and have evidence of IT Skills.


Course Work

Home Learning Policy

Year Plan

Useful Links

BTEC Level 3 in Sport Curriculum Map

Meet the Teachers

Mr McDonald

Mr Dytiche

Miss L Williams